Easy methods to watch two NASA astronauts spacewalk on Tuesday

Posted on

This week, two astronauts from the Worldwide House Station (ISS) can be performing a spacewalk exterior the station to put in {hardware} prepared for brand new photo voltaic panels to be added as a part of the station’s ongoing energy system improve. NASA can be dwell streaming the occasion, so you possibly can watch your complete factor on-line.

We have the small print on what the spacewalk will contain and how one can watch alongside dwell from house.

What to anticipate from the spacewalk

NASA spacewalker Kayla Barron is pictured throughout a six-hour and 32-minute spacewalk on Dec. 2, 2021, to switch a failed antenna system on the Worldwide House Station’s Port-1 truss construction. NASA

Two NASA astronauts, Kayla Barron and Raja Chari, can be collaborating within the spacewalk which has been designated US EVA 79. They are going to be performing extra work on the continued improve of the station’s energy system. On this explicit spacewalk, they are going to be putting in brackets and struts in order that extra new photo voltaic arrays might be put in exterior of the house station sooner or later.

Final 12 months, the second of six photo voltaic arrays was put in as a part of the multi-year improve to the station’s present photo voltaic panels. A few of these older panels are twenty years previous, so they’re being changed with smaller and extra environment friendly panels referred to as ISS Roll-Out Photo voltaic Arrays (iROSAs). 4 extra iROSAa can be delivered to the house station for future set up, however earlier than that may occur the station crew wants to organize for his or her set up by including brackets and different fixtures to the skin of the station.

In addition to the spacewalk on Tuesday this week, there can be one other spacewalk the week after on Wednesday, March 23, when two astronauts (who haven’t but been chosen from the crew) will set up hoses onto a module of the station’s cooling system in addition to upgrading different items of station {hardware}.

Easy methods to watch the spacewalk on Tuesday

Your complete of Tuesday’s spacewalk can be dwell streamed on NASA TV. You possibly can watch alongside at house both by heading to NASA’s web site or through the use of the video embedded on the high of this web page.

Protection of the spacewalk begins at 6:30 am ET (3:30 am PT) on Tuesday, March 15. The spacewalk itself is scheduled to start at 8:05 am ET (5:05 am PT) and is scheduled to final for roughly six and a half hours.

If you would like to study extra concerning the spacewalk and the work that the astronauts can be performing, you possibly can tune into NASA’s information convention the day earlier than as nicely. The briefing can be livestreamed on Monday, March 14 at 2 pm ET (11 am PT).

Editors’ Suggestions



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.